BEPS 2021 27th Meeting

The 27th annual meeting of the Bio-Environmental Polymer Society (BEPS) is scheduled for June 23-25, 2021 (Wed-Fri) and will be a Virtual Conference.

The conference theme is “Bridging Sustainability Gaps via Reshaped Polymers and Mindsets” and includes three days of presentations and posters highlighting current research in biopolymers and bioproducts that may help the environment and create a more sustainable future.

Interested in presenting?

Abstracts are being accepted through May 15, 2021.

Abstract submissions for oral and poster presentations are welcome.

Abstract Format: The text should be single-spaced with 1” margins all around, and should be saved as a Microsoft Word document for PC. Please format the abstract so that the font is Arial 11 and the title appears in bold capital letters centered at the top of the page. The names and affiliations of all authors belongs below the title, with the name of the presenting author underlined. The abstract should be self-contained so that it is a useful future reference. It is encouraged that Abstracts include a figure, graph, table or a Table of Content (TOC) graphic, but it is not required. The Abstract total length must be no longer than one page (8 by 11 inches).

Please email submissions to

If you have any questions, please email Joe Stanzione (

Registration Fees

Please register here.

  • Regular Attendee or Post-Doctoral Fellow: $50 USD

  • Undergraduate and Graduate Students: Free

Conference Topics

  • Progress on commercialization efforts of bio-based monomers, polymers and corresponding materials
  • Polymers used for applications in foods, nutrition and agriculture
  • Innovations in chemical and biocatalytic routes to bio-based monomers and polymers
  • Modification of natural polymers to tune physical and biological properties
  • Metabolic and protein engineering to develop catalysts for green polymer chemistry
  • Bio-based fibers
  • Green routes for polymer chemical or enzymatic recycling
  • Next-generation flame retardants
  • Innovative developments in processing bio-based plastics
  • Innovative chemical processes for conversion of lignocellulose to value added products
  • Biopolyesters
  • Protein-based materials
  • Carbohydrate-based materials
  • Bio-based macromers
  • Bio-based composites, coatings, and structural materials
  • Life-cycle analysis of bio-based processes
  • Studies of polymer biodegradability (soil, marine, compost, anaerobic digestion) and other end-of-life options
  • Process developments (e.g. continuous bioprocesses, downstream aspects)

Plenary Speakers

Manjusri Misra (University of Guelph, Guelph, Canada)
Cecily Ryan (Montana State University, Bozeman, MT, USA)
Wil Srubar III (University of Colorado, Boulder, CO, USA)

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Sarah Billington (Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA)
Blair Brettmann (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA)
Sylvain Caillol (Institut Charles Gerhardt Montpellier, Montpellier, France)
Trevor Charles (University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada)
Eric Cochran (Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA)
Katrina Cornish (Ohio State University, Wooster, OH, USA)
Greg Glenn (USDA ARS Pacific West Area, Albany, CA, USA)
Melissa Gordon (Lafayette College, Easton, PA, USA)
Richard Gross (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, USA)
Nacu Hernandez (Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA)
Adriana Kovalcik (Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic)
John La Scala (US Army Research Laboratory, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD, USA)
Christopher Lewis (Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY, USA)
Charles Martin (Leistritz Extrusion, Branchburg, NJ, USA)
Robert Mathers (Penn State University, New Kensington, PA, USA)
Michael Meier (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany)
Stephen Miller (University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA)
Charles Mullen (USDA ARS Eastern Regional Research Center, Glenside, PA, USA)
Joseph Mauck (Cardolite Corporation, Bristol, PA, USA)
Sankar Nair (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA)
Ramani Narayan (Michigan State University, Lansing, MI, USA)
Amod Ogale (Clemson University, Clemson, SC, USA)
Giuseppe Palmese (Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA)
Srikanth Pilla (Clemson University, Clemson, SC, USA)
Megan Robertson (University of Houston, Houston, TX, USA)
Nicholas Rorrer (NREL, Golden, CO, USA)
Xiuzhi (Susan) Sun (Kansas State University, Manhattan, KA, USA)
Chuanbing Tang (University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA)
Wim Thielemans (KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium)
Mark Thies (Clemson University, Clemson, SC, USA)
John Torkelson (Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA)
Chad Ulven (North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND, USA)
Richard Venditti (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA)
Dean Webster (North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND, USA)
Kirti Yenkie (Rowan University, Glassboro, NJ, USA)
Jinwen Zhang (Washington State University, Pullman, WA)

Committee Members

Chairman: Joe Stanzione (Rowan University, Glasboro, NJ, USA)

Organizing Committee:
Nandika D’Souza (University of North Texas, Denton, TX, USA)
Greg Glenn (USDA, Albany, CA, USA)
Richard Gross (RPI, Troy, NY, USA)
Manju Misra (University of Guelph, Ontario, CA)
Amar Mohanty (University of Guelph, Ontario, CA)
Srikanth Pilla (Clemson University, Greenville, SC, USA)
Cecily Ryan (Montana State University, Bozeman, MT, USA)
Jinwen Zhang (Washington State University, Pullman, WA, USA)

Last updated: 02 MAY 2021